Responsive Web Design - What does Responsive mean?

Katleen Hinz, 8 November 2022
6 Min. reading time

Responsive web design is almost a must in this day and age. Since many websites are now only accessed on smartphones or tablets, it is important for website owners to have a responsive design on their site.

But what does "responsive" actually mean? In the following article, we explain what a responsive web design is, how you can make your web design responsive and give you some examples of how you can build a responsive web design.

What is Responsive Web Design?

Responsive web design means that the web design of a website adapts to any size of screen. Accordingly, the design of a page is made cross-device with Responsive Web Design. All content must be displayed optimally and without problems on every screen. 

This refers to both the technical and the media tools such as images, videos or typography. 

When the internet was invented in 1991, websites naturally only had to exist for the desktop. In turn, when smartphones came onto the market, web designers had to think about how to display their pages on smaller screens.

In the beginning, two different websites were created - a desktop version and a mobile version. To reduce this additional effort, the term Responsive Web Design was introduced for the first time in 2010.

This means that there is no longer any need to develop two different versions of websites, but only one that adapts to the circumstances, i.e. the different screen sizes, with the help of CSS and HTML.

 

What does responsive behaviour mean?

"Responsive behaviour" means "responsive behaviour", which means that a Responsively designed web design can react to the given environment. The web design reacts to the user's screen size and the design, content and media are adapted accordingly.

 

What are the different types of responsive web design?

In general, there are two types of responsive web design: the Adaptive Layout and the Responsive Layout. The layout is then either adaptive or responsive accordingly, relying on a fixed or a flexible grid system.

The adaptive concept has a fixed grid system. The grid system is described in more detail below. This fixed grid system is then optimised in advance for different screen sizes.

The Responsive concept, on the other hand, is based on a flexible grid system. This means that the content and the web design in general can react and adapt to the circumstances, i.e. to the different resolutions and screen sizes.

Basic information on this topic can be found here: Web design 

How do I make a website Responsive?

If you want to create a Responsive website, as a web designer you must first determine the order in which it is to be developed. You have two options: from desktop to smartphone or from smartphone to desktop.


From desktop to smartphone (or tablet)

If you decide to make your web design primarily for the desktop screen, this means that you will then have to optimise this version for smaller and smaller screens such as a smartphone or tablet. The latest designs and technologies are used here and are particularly effective on large screens such as a desktop or television.

However, this also means that these latest designs and technologies could cause problems on smaller screens or even on older devices.

From smartphone (or tablet) to desktop

Exactly the opposite of this is the development of a version that is mainly created for the smartphone or tablet, which is then later optimised for larger screens. This is about making a website accessible for any device, no matter how old or new.

After that, the web design is progressively optimised for higher resolutions and larger screens. Versatile technologies or designs can still be added at this point, but the web design should not be based on these from the beginning.

Flexible layout 

The flexible layout is about being able to adapt to the respective screen size and resolution, which is why it must be flexible. To do this, you must divide the content into sections, which must not be static in a web design that is built responsively. 

For this reason, the sections are divided onto a 12-column grid system like in a newspaper or magazine. Thus, the flexible form is made possible on all screen sizes, as the content can be arranged randomly in this grid and there are any number of variations of these columns.

There are various applications for creating this grid system, such as "bootstrap" or "responsive grid system".

CSS Media Queries

In order to make the web design and the structure of the website responsive, however, these columns must be able to adapt themselves to the screen and thus change. This is where the media queries come into play, which define so-called breakpoints. 

Breakpoints determine where the content can be "broken" to fit the size of the screen.

Each screen size gets its own code to make the columns and content flexible and responsive.

 

What are examples of Responsive Web Design?

Responsive navigation

If you want users to find their way around your website, you as a web designer must make the navigation as user-friendly as possible. This navigation looks different on the desktop version than on the mobile version.

What is a menu bar at the top of the screen on desktop websites is a so-called hamburger icon on smartphones and tablets. You can recognise this by the three horizontal strokes on top of each other. 

On mobile websites, the menu bar is completely hidden and the menu only appears when you click on this hamburger icon. Then the menu opens and is displayed on the entire smartphone or tablet screen.

This is also how you should handle your responsive design in web design. How you design your menu within this menu bar or the hamburger icon is up to you.

Responsive Content

Of course, you should also build your content Responsively, which means that you determine where your content may be "broken" and where not by setting breakpoints. Of course, you can also determine from the beginning how your web design should be displayed on smartphones or tablets and how it should be displayed on a desktop (adaptive vs. responsive). 

For example, you can also work out the order of your content differently on the mobile page than on the desktop version.

Also make sure that the user is not overwhelmed by the content on smaller screens and consider whether some content can be hidden to make your content easier to read.


Responsive typography 

With typography, too, there is either adaptive or responsive adaptation. The smaller the screen, the more attention must of course be paid to appropriate and pleasant-to-read typography.

An adaptive adjustment of the typography would be, for example, changing the font size at different screen sizes that are determined in advance. A responsive adaptation would be when the font size adjusts itself according to the screen size.

Conclusion

If you want to make your web design Responsive, as a web designer you have to consider some things that may (have to) look different on the mobile version than on the desktop version.

First, decide the order in which you want to build your responsive web design: Mobile or Desktop First? 

Then build on this and optimise the individual elements adapted to and optimised for larger or smaller screens. Whether you choose adaptive or responsive elements is up to you.

If you still have questions or would like more information about Responsive Web Design, please contact us via our website - we will be happy to help you.

Article from
Katleen Hinz
Katleen is a content creator at f5.design. But above all, she is an expert in international communication and media studies. In her free time, she travels and explores the world with a zest for life.

Do you like our work? Let us support you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ready for the next step?
Let's talk.

[email protected]+49 (0) 2935 9639 772
f5.design has 5,00 from 5 Stars 95 Reviews on ProvenExpert.com
userclock
en_GB
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

Responsive Webdesign - Was bedeutet Responsive?

Katleen Hinz, 8. November 2022
6 Min. Lesedauer

Ein Webdesign responsiv zu gestalten, ist in dem heutigen Zeitalter schon fast ein Muss. Da viele Webseiten mittlerweile zum Großteil nur noch auf dem Smartphone oder Tablet aufgerufen werden, ist es wichtig, als Webseiteninhaber ein Responsive Design auf seiner Seite zu haben.

Doch was bedeutet „responsive” eigentlich? Wir erklären dir im folgenden Artikel, was ein Responsive Webdesign ist, wie du dein Webdesign Responsive machst und nennen dir einige Beispiele, wie du ein Webdesign Responsive aufbauen kannst.

Was versteht man unter Responsive Webdesign?

Responsive Webdesign bedeutet, dass sich das Webdesign einer Website auf jede Größe des Bildschirms anpasst. Das Design einer Seite wird demnach mit dem Responsive Webdesign geräteübergreifend gestaltet. Auf jedem Bildschirm muss jeglicher Inhalt optimal und ohne Probleme angezeigt werden. 

Hierbei sind sowohl die technischen als auch die medialen Werkzeuge wie Bilder, Videos oder Typografie gemeint. 

Bei der Erfindung des Internets im Jahre 1991 musste es Webseiten selbstverständlich nur für den Desktop geben. Als Smartphones wiederum auf den Markt kamen, mussten sich Webdesigner über die Darstellung ihrer Seiten auf kleineren Bildschirmen Gedanken machen.

Anfangs wurden noch zwei verschiedene Webseiten erstellt - eine Desktop-Version und eine mobile Version. Um diesen Mehraufwand zu verringern, stellte man dann im Jahr 2010 den Begriff Responsive Webdesign erstmals vor.

Somit müssen also keine zwei verschiedenen Versionen mehr von Webseiten entwickelt werden, sondern nur noch eine, die sich mithilfe von CSS und HTML den Gegebenheiten, sprich den unterschiedlichen Bildschirmgrößen, anpasst.

 

Was bedeutet responsive Verhalten?

„Responsive Verhalten” bedeutet übersetzt „reaktionsfähiges Verhalten”, das meint, dass ein Responsive gestaltetes Webdesign auf die gegebene Umgebung reagieren kann. Das Webdesign reagiert auf die Bildschirmgröße des Users und das Design, der Inhalt und die Medien werden entsprechend angepasst.

 

Welche Arten von responsivem Webdesign gibt es?

Generell gibt es zwei Arten von responsivem Webdesign: das Adaptive Layout und das Responsive Layout. Das Layout ist dann dementsprechend entweder anpassungsfähig oder reaktionsfähig, wobei auf ein fixes oder ein flexibles Rastersystem gesetzt wird.

Beim adaptiven Konzept gibt es ein fixes Rastersystem. Auf das Rastersystem wird unten noch einmal näher eingegangen. Dieses fixe Rastersystem wird dann im Vorhinein für verschiedene Bildschirmgrößen optimiert.

Beim Responsive Konzept hingegen geht man von einem flexiblen Rastersystem aus. Das heißt, dass der Inhalt und allgemein das Webdesign auf die Gegebenheiten, sprich auf die verschiedenen Auflösungen und Bildschirmgrößen, reagieren und sich an diese anpassen können.

Grundlegende Informationen zu diesem Thema erhältst du hier: Webdesign 

Wie erstelle ich eine Webseite Responsive?

Wenn du eine Webseite Responsive erstellen möchtest, musst du als Webdesigner vorab die Reihenfolge der Entwicklung dieser festlegen. Hierbei stehen dir zwei Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung: von Desktop zu Smartphone oder von Smartphone zu Desktop.


Von Desktop zu Smartphone (oder Tablet)

Wenn du dich dafür entscheidest, dein Webdesign in erster Linie für den Desktop-Bildschirm auszulegen, heißt das, dass du diese Version dann im Nachhinein für immer kleinere Bildschirme wie ein Smartphone oder Tablet optimieren musst. Die neuesten Designs und Technologien kommen hierbei zum Einsatz und kommen vor allem auf großen Bildschirmen wie auf einem Desktop oder Fernseher besonders zur Geltung.

Das bedeutet aber auch, dass diese neuesten Designs und Technologien auf kleineren Bildschirmen oder auch auf älteren Geräten Probleme bereiten könnten.

Von Smartphone (oder Tablet) zu Desktop

Genau das Gegenteil von diesem ist die Entwicklung einer Version, die hauptsächlich für das Smartphone oder Tablet angelegt wird, die dann später für größere Bildschirme optimiert wird. Hier geht es darum, eine Webseite für jedes Gerät, egal wie alt oder neu, zugänglich zu machen.

Danach wird das Webdesign progressiv für höhere Auflösungen und größere Bildschirme optimiert. Vielseitige Technologien oder Designs können an dieser Stelle immer noch hinzugefügt werden, jedoch sollte das Webdesign nicht auf diesen von Anfang an basieren.

Flexibles Layout 

Beim flexiblen Layout geht es darum, dass sich dieses an die jeweilige Bildschirmgröße und -auflösung anpassen kann, weshalb es flexibel sein muss. Hierfür musst du den Inhalt in Abschnitte unterteilen, die bei einem Webdesign, das Responsive aufgebaut ist, jedoch keinesfalls statisch sein dürfen. 

Aus diesem Grund werden die Abschnitte auf ein 12-spaltiges Rastersystem wie in einer Zeitung oder einem Magazin aufgeteilt. Somit wird die flexible Form auf allen Bildschirmgrößen ermöglicht, da der Inhalt in diesem Raster wahllos angeordnet werden kann und es beliebig viele Variationen dieser Spalten gibt.

Zur Erstellung dieses Rastersystems gibt es verschiedene Anwendungen wie zum Beispiel „bootstrap” oder „responsive grid system”.

CSS Media Queries

Um das Webdesign und die Struktur der Webseite nun aber Responsive zu machen, müssen sich diese Spalten aber selbstständig an den Bildschirm anpassen und somit verändern können. Hier kommen die Media Queries ins Spiel, die sogenannte Breakpoints festlegen. 

Breakpoints bestimmen, an welchen Stellen der Inhalt „gebrochen” werden kann, um an die Größe des Bildschirms angepasst zu werden.

Jede Bildschirmgröße erhält einen eigenen Code, der die Spalten und den Inhalt flexibel und Responsive machen soll.

 

Was sind Beispiele für ein Responsive Webdesign?

Responsive Navigation

Möchtest du, dass User sich gut auf deiner Webseite zurechtfinden, musst du als Webdesigner die Navigation so benutzerfreundlich wie möglich gestalten. Diese Navigation sieht auf der Desktop-Version anders aus als auf der mobilen Version.

Was auf Desktop Webseiten eine Menüleiste am oberen Rand des Bildschirms ist, ist auf Smartphones und Tablets ein sogenanntes Hamburger-Icon. Dieses erkennt man an den drei horizontalen, übereinander liegenden Strichen. 

Auf mobilen Webseiten wird die Menüleiste komplett ausgeblendet und das Menü erscheint erst, wenn man auf dieses Hamburger-Icon klickt. Dann öffnet sich das Menü und wird auf dem gesamten Smartphone- oder Tablet-Bildschirm angezeigt.

So solltest du es auch mit deiner Responsive Gestaltung beim Webdesign handhaben. Wie du dein Menü innerhalb dieser Menüleiste oder des Hamburger-Icons gestaltest, ist dir überlassen.

Responsive Content

Natürlich solltest du auch deinen Content Responsive aufbauen, das bedeutet, dass du durch die festgelegten Breakpoints bestimmst, wo dein Content „gebrochen” werden darf und wo nicht. Du kannst natürlich ebenfalls von Anfang an festlegen, wie dein Webdesign auf Smartphones oder Tablets und wie auf einem Desktop angezeigt werden soll (adaptive vs. responsive). 

Auch die Reihenfolge deines Contents darfst du auf der mobilen Seite zum Beispiel anders ausarbeiten als auf der Desktop-Version.

Achte auch darauf, dass der User auf kleineren Bildschirmen nicht vom Inhalt erschlagen wird und überlege, ob vielleicht einige Inhalte ausgeblendet werden können, damit dein Content leichter zu lesen ist.


Responsive Typografie 

Auch bei der Typografie gibt es entweder eine adaptive oder eine responsive Anpassung. Je kleiner der Bildschirm ist, desto mehr muss natürlich auch auf eine angemessene und angenehm zu lesende Typografie geachtet werden.

Eine adaptive Anpassung der Typografie wäre zum Beispiel das Ändern der Schriftgröße bei verschiedenen Bildschirmgrößen, die im Vorhinein festgelegt werden. Eine responsive Anpassung wäre, wenn sich die Schriftgröße eigenständig entsprechend der Bildschirmgröße anpasst.

Fazit

Wenn du dein Webdesign Responsive ausarbeiten möchtest, musst du als Webdesigner einige Dinge beachten, die auf der mobilen Version vielleicht anders aussehen (müssen) als auf der Desktop-Version.

Lege zuerst die Reihenfolge fest, in der du dein Responsive gestaltetes Webdesign aufbauen möchtest: Mobil oder Desktop First? 

Baue dann darauf auf und optimiere dann die einzelnen Elemente angepasst an und optimiert für größere bzw. kleinere Bildschirme. Ob du dich für adaptive oder responsive Elemente entscheidest, ist dir überlassen.

Stehen noch Fragen offen oder möchtest du weitere Informationen über das Thema Responsive Webdesign erhalten, dann kontaktiere uns gerne über unsere Webseite - wir helfen dir gerne weiter.

Artikel von
Katleen Hinz
Katleen ist Content Creator bei f5.design. Aber vorallem ist sie Expertin für Internationale Kommunikation und Medienwissenschaften. In ihrer Freizeit ist sie auf Reisen und erkundet mit voller Lebensfreude die Welt.

Gefällt dir unsere Arbeit? Lass dich von uns unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Bereit für den nächsten Schritt?
Lass uns sprechen.

[email protected]+49 (0) 2935 9639 772
f5.design hat 5,00 von 5 Sternen 95 Bewertungen auf ProvenExpert.com
userclock
de_DE
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram